Jennerationx

Advice for women

Rush Limbaugh, radio host extraordinaire said he would hold a special ‘female summit’ in an upcoming hour of the award-winning, growing by leaps and bounds Rush Limbaugh radio program Tuesday.

We’ll have a summit of all the women in this audience — or as many of them as we can get into breakout groups — and perhaps devote an hour in an upcoming program to calls only from women who genuinely want to talk to me. They can be liberal, conservative. They could be non-audience members, could be audience members.  But I want some of these women to start telling me what it is I must do to close the gender gap — or, if not what it is I must do to close the gender gap, what it is I’ve done that has caused the gender gap; assuming the gender gap is true and that the poll is true.  We’ll accept it for what it is for the sake of the exercise.

I was on a forum at the time, and I answered thusly:

There is nothing he can do to get more women, women have to stop being silly and stupid, and that will never happen. There are always going to be the smart girls who are listening to him and by the way, the men in their lives, but the vast majority of women do not or will not do it.

Now, I was typing off the top of my head during the forum so I will further explain.

I am a woman, and the women I know for the most part are not silly and stupid.  They are busy with family, social matters and the organization of the two.  They do not think of politics, and when they have to, less is more.  They are not interested in hearing three hours of political philosophy.  But the women I know are not like most women in that they are logical in mindset, pragmatic, and interested in solutions.  We are tough out here.

However, as I look around, listen in on conversations in restaurants and stores, and go to parties, I can see the masses of women who hate men for what they are.  They try to control them, they talk down to them, they chastise them, they degrade them, they tease them sexually, they complain constantly that their man is not good enough, smart enough or successful enough.

Ladies, some advice.  Men are men.  They are not women.  Stop trying to make men be like women.  It is not helpful to a relationship, and it will not work.

During the third hour of Rush’s show on Wednesday he held his female summit.  The first caller was Dee in San Diego.  Dee listened to her father in law who told her to stop listening to NPR and start listening to Rush.  Next, Deborah in Brighton, MI wanted Rush to love women for their minds and not their outward appearance, taking particular offense to the term “infobabe.”  Rita told Rush to stop talking down to people and acting like he knows everything saying, “you’re opinion doesn’t necessarily have to be everyone’s opinion.”  Rush shot back, “It should be.”  I watched Rush on his dittocam giggle heartily after Rita’s call.  Kiesha, a college student was told by Rush to ‘man up’ and tell people she knows that she listens to him.  Denise in South Carolina listened to her father in law when he told her to listen to Rush.  Finally, Janet in Grosse Pointe, MI was condescending to Rush.  This whole exercise just goes to prove how useless summits are.

Women have to be strong and independent to listen to good advice.  Men and women are different. Period.  It is in learning about what your particular man wants, needs and hopes for that you get what you want, ladies.  Unless you picked a bad one.

February 26, 2009 - Posted by | Rush Limbaugh, Uncategorized

14 Comments »

  1. While I don’t agree with you take on women as a general rule, I will say that I don’t think Mr. Limbaugh’s goal is as superficial (get more female listeners) as you treat it.

    Mr. Limbaugh is aware of his influence among conservative men, as voters. My opinion – and just my opinion, not speaking for any group or any other individual – is that Mr. Limbaugh would like to figure out how he can influence women to vote the way he would like them to vote, in the same way that he feels he influences men to vote the way he believes they should vote.

    And if women are not listening to his show, then he is thinking, they aren’t going to hear about who they should support in politics.

    Now – maybe that’s not true – maybe he has enough other avenues for influencing women (who are able to be influenced) that I’m really out to lunch. Wouldn’t be the first time! 🙂

    But this is my theory. You can read more about it (if you’re interested) here.

    Thanks again.

    Comment by Jill | February 26, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hey, Jill thanks for the comment, but you aren’t right. Rush doesn’t influence people how to vote, he articulates what they already believe to be true. I have always been a conservative, but until I found Rush, I just thought I was different, introspective. And I don’t really think Rush expects to accomplish anything by the summit except prove that asking other people’s opinions when forming your own is useless.

    Comment by jennerationx | February 26, 2009 | Reply

  3. Hmm – that’s interesting – so you are saying that you think people only listen to what confirms what they already believe? There is a fair amount of data out there suggesting that – for example, in terms of who reads which blogs and so on.

    I think your conclusion – that this will only prove that asking people’s opinions when forming your own is useless – is limited to describing how it works for Mr. Limbaugh.

    But that’s just my opinion. 😉

    Comment by Jill | February 26, 2009 | Reply

  4. Jill, no, I am saying that explains Rush’s listenership better than your theory that he is the business of telling people what to do, think, how to vote. Sorry hon, your two cents aren’t worth much on the Rush issue, I know him like every square inch of my glorious naked body. I hear his thoughts 15 hours a week, he has a beautiful mind and a healthy sex drive. He’s a regular guy, and I love men.

    Comment by jennerationx | February 26, 2009 | Reply

  5. Oh – No – I don’t think I wrote that I think he’s trying to tell people what to do, how to think and vote. I think he wants to persuade people, influence people.

    He’s what you define as a regular guy. Thank goodness, I don’t know any regular guys at all – they are all extraordinary in their own way. You can definitely have all the regular men, Jenn. 🙂

    Thanks for over-valuing what I wrote by the way – in Ohio’s economy, 2 cents is about 3/4 that right now! We’re heading into double digit unemployment here!

    Comment by Jill | February 26, 2009 | Reply

  6. I don’t want all the regular men, just mine, he and I are one. The regular guys out there know who they are. Hey, I feel for ya in Ohio, Michigan has been in double digits for quite some time.

    Comment by jennerationx | February 26, 2009 | Reply

  7. I love women! I think every man should own one! 😉

    Comment by Scott | February 26, 2009 | Reply

  8. I also like the Women’s Movement. Especially when walking behind it… LOL! I crack myself up! 😉

    Comment by Scott | February 26, 2009 | Reply

  9. While there may have initially been a point, I became bored trying to find it in the gibberish.

    Comment by Halfbreed | February 28, 2009 | Reply

  10. um, Halfbreed, what are you referring to?

    Comment by jennerationx | February 28, 2009 | Reply

  11. Um, like, the um, like same question, like, could be, um, asked, um, of, like, um, your um, like blog post thing, like and um, stuff. OK? Essentially, whatever point you were trying to make you missed. Like, ok and, um, stuff or something? You know?

    Comment by Halfbreed | February 28, 2009 | Reply

  12. Halfbreed, you sound like Obama and Caroline Kennedy.

    Comment by jennerationx | February 28, 2009 | Reply

  13. I liked the summit. I do think Rush actually listened to what the women were saying. Those who listen do so for various reasons; to confirm what we already believe in, to learn, to get the truth, or hear what the main stream media won’t report.

    Comment by Suzan | March 4, 2009 | Reply

  14. Thank you for your submission to the advice for women from women blog carnival.

    Comment by blackbv | March 16, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

